A Newborn Boy, an Ode To Joy

As I write this, I am listening to Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony. I have rarely used the CD player in my car in the last few years, but a week or so ago I decided to load it up with my favorite Beethoven Symphonies. I decided to listen to them a few times. After all, the reason certain compositions are known as “warhorses” is because they *really* are that good.

As it happened, late Friday afternoon, having just finished the 5th Symphony, I noticed the player had started on Beethoven’s Ninth, and I eagerly looked forward to hearing it through to the end.

Yesterday morning a happy event made the listening experience even more meaningful.

At 11:33AM yesterday, 8 August 2012 (8/4/12), my daughter Jennifer gave birth to my third grandchild, and first grandson: Daniel George Millman. He weighted in at a healthy 6′ 11 oz. All are doing well, especially since nothing pleases me more than a normal delivery.

I’m in the midst of listening to the Ninth as I write this post. I believe the Ninth to be the greatest of symphonies. Not just because of the final movement, but from the very first note. I can think of no other piece of music where each note has a purpose, building an unequalled edifice of sound and emotion in the process.

Here is a shot of Tux enjoying the music along with me.

The south view from our terrace.

If you look closely, you may even be able to see some of the ballplayers on the nearby Eastchester Little League Ballfield. One of the great pleasures of our new home is that when the weather is warm we often hear the sounds of baseball in the evening — none more sweeter than “Play Ball.”

I look forward to listening to the Ninth with Daniel some day. Even better, if he inherits just a fraction of his mother’s musical ability, I may someday have the good fortune to hear him be in the orchestra or chorus for a performance of it.

One Comment

  1. Jennifer
    Posted August 5, 2012 at 11:28 | Permalink

    Very sweet. Share it with mom.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

  • Pages

  • August 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • RSS The Wayward Word Press

  • Recent Comments

    daveshields on On being the maintainer, sole…
    George Fowler on On being the maintainer, sole…
    daveshields on SNOBOL4 for Linux
    Walter Rutherford on SNOBOL4 for Linux
    David Plummer on SNOBOL4 for Linux
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

  • Top Posts

  • Top Rated

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Top Rated

