rsyncing the planet

[First published in GOTOXO, rsyncing the planet]

[Update January 4, 2008: The XO arrived yesterday and is now on its way to Australia.]

To my fellow open-source developers:

I have a birthday coming up, on December 8th. I have just treated myself to a present.

I have just bought four more XO laptops. Having previously bought four, that brings up my total to 8, which is both a power of 2 and the date of my birthday.

We programmers like that sort of coincidence. And we programmers who once studied mathematics (Caltech, B.S. ’66) especially like this sort of thing.

I will soon have two more XO laptops sent my way.

I have decided to hold on to one until I can find a good use for it a few months ahead. Perhaps I’ll learn of someone who can put it to good use, or perhaps one of mine will break, or perhaps I’ll just start an XO chain-letter, sending it to someone who should know about the XO, and ask that, after they decide they have spent enough time with it, that they send it on its way, and so forth.

That left a question. Who should get the next one? It took only a short time to come up with an answer.

The “Give 1 Get 1″ program is only open to residents of the U.S. and Canada. For each two bought, one will most likely stay in the U.S. or Canada. However, those of us in here need to get some to developers there, on the far side of the world.

Put in programmer’s terms, we need to start rsyncing the planet.

Enjoy your XO, Tridge. I will forward it to you as soon as it arrives.

One Comment

  1. Eduardo H. Silva
    Posted December 6, 2007 at 00:47 | Permalink

    You are amazing! As a sorts of beta-tester (wanted to contribute more, but got hit by the blues), this kind of purity, can I say it this way, only makes me more ardent to find bugs on the XO system, so that people like you can get a more solid platform to build on (although, of course, the true heros are all those OLPC and neighbourhing hackers, paid and volunteer, who are doing the real coding!
    P.S.- Are you good on profiling? Optimizing python? (they currently don’t have time to do this now as they are finalizing the 2nd ship release). Why don’t you pop-in on the Sugar or Devel mailing lists, I bet they would welcome a seasoned hacker like yourself!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

  • Pages

  • December 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • RSS The Wayward Word Press

  • Recent Comments

    daveshields on SNOBOL4 for Linux
    Walter Rutherford on SNOBOL4 for Linux
    David Plummer on SNOBOL4 for Linux
    David Plummer on SNOBOL4 for Linux
    Thomas A Naegele on SNOBOL4 for Linux
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

  • Top Posts

  • Top Rated

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Top Rated

