A. J. Liebling: “Freedom of the press is guaranteed only to those who own one.”

Since early 2003 I have maintained a list of the URL’s articles, columns, and such that have struck my fancy. Most have been about OSS. I just kept them in one large HTML file for the first few years, then I started using an internal IBM Filefox plugin, dogear, and most recently I have been posting them on the internal IBM wiki about the Volunteers project.

Going forward I will also post some publicly here in a new page to be called “The Wayward Press” in honor of the New Yorker column of that name that was the inspiration for the name of this blog.

A.J. Liebling died in late 1963. I wish he could have been with us longer. I expect some of his best work would have come during the Watergate era, but alas we shall never know.

We also don’t know what he would have made of the internet. But I think we can make a good guess. The article A. J. Liebling in Wikipedia lists some of his notable quotes:

  • “Freedom of the press is guaranteed only to those who own one.”
  • “People everywhere confuse what they read in newspapers with news.”
  • “I can write better than anybody who can write faster, and I can write faster than anybody who can write better.”

The first two are especially apropos today, and the second makes great sense with s/newspapers/blogs/.

But I think he would have been especially pleased by knowing that so many more are guaranteed freedom of the press. We can each have our own press, including my own here at WordPress.

One Comment

  1. talloaktree
    Posted July 10, 2009 at 11:33 | Permalink

    I will never understand, when nobody can have
    access to the press unless I own one. The
    people who owns the press has 100% say over
    what they want in their paper.So what is
    really ment by “freedom of the press”. I will
    never have a chance to express my views on
    anything untill I get my own press!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

  • Pages

  • September 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Oct »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • RSS The Wayward Word Press

  • Recent Comments

    daveshields on SNOBOL4 for Linux
    Walter Rutherford on SNOBOL4 for Linux
    David Plummer on SNOBOL4 for Linux
    David Plummer on SNOBOL4 for Linux
    Thomas A Naegele on SNOBOL4 for Linux
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

  • Top Posts

  • Top Rated

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Top Rated

